The Wound Healing Society
Wound Healing Society
Past Anita Roberts Award Winners

2023 Winner

Kyle Sylakowski
The matricellular protein decorin delivered intradermally with coacervate improves wound resolution in the CXCR3-deficient mouse model of hypertrophic scarring

Honorable Mention
Alex Cheong
Robbing Peter to Pay Paul: Chlorhexidine Gluconate Demonstrates Short-term Efficacy and Long-term Cytotoxicity

2022 Winner

Toshihiro Tsukatani
Polymorphism analysis of candidate risk genes for pressure injuries in older Japanese patients: A cross-sectional study at a long-term care hospital

2021 Winner

Rivka Stone
A Bioengineered Living Cell Construct Activates Metallothionein/Zinc/MMP8 and Inhibits TGFβ to Stimulate Remodeling of Fibrotic Venous Leg Ulcers

2020 Winner

Aos Karim
Discordance between histologic and visual assessment of tissue viability in excised burn wound tissue

2019 Winner

Casey Bartow-McKenney
The microbiota of traumatic, open fracture wounds is associated with mechanism of injury

2018 Winner

George Glinos, University of Miami Miller Scholl of Medicine
Optical coherence tomography for assessment of epithelialization in a human ex vivo wound mode
Wound Repair Regen. 2017

2017 Winner

Zhensen Zhu, PhD
The Natural Behavior of Mononuclear Phagocytes in HTS Formation

2016 Winner

Ravi F. Sood, MD
Ravi F. Sood, MD
Targeted Metabolic Profiling of Wounds in Diabetic and Nondiabetic Mice
WRR May-June 2015 (WRR 23:3)

2015 Winner

Michael W. Morris, Jr., MD
Michael W. Morris, Jr., MD
Modulation of the Inflammatory Response by Increasing Fetal Wound Size or Interleukin-10 Overexpression Determines Wound Phenotype and Scar Formation
WRR May-June 2014 (WRR 22:3)

2014 Winner

Khang T. Nguyen, MD
Deficient cytokine expression and neutrophil oxidative burst contribute to impaired cutaneous wound healing in diabetic, biofilm-containing chronic wounds
WRR January-November-December 2013 (WRR 21:6)

2013 Winner

Swathi Balaji, PhD
Tissue-engineered provisional matrix as a novel approach to enhance diabetic wound healing
WRR January-February 2012 (WRR 20:1)
Original Research-Basic Research

2012 Winner

Domenico Taverna, PhD
Multiplexed Molecular Descriptors of Pressure Ulcers Defined by Imaging Mass Spectrometry
WRR November - December 2011 (WRR 19:6)
Original Research-Basic Science

Honorable Mention:
Anandev N. Gurjala, MD, MS
Development of a novel, highly quantitative in vivo model for the study of biofilm-impaired cutaneous wound healing
WRR May-June 2011 (WRR 19:3)
Original Research-Basic Science

2011 Winner

Corrie L. Gallant-Behm, PhD
Occlusion regulates epidermal cytokine production and inhibits scar formation
WRR March-April 2010 (WRR 18:2)
Original Research-Basic Science

2010 Winner

Joyce W. Wong, BSc
Wound healing in oral mucosa results in reduced scar formation as compared to skin: Evidence from the red Duroc pig model and humans
WRR September-October 2009 (WRR 17:5)

2009 Winners

The WHS Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the first Anita Roberts Award has been given jointly to Elliott Kozin and Dr. Ashley Gordon. The award, which was presented at the 2009 WHS annual meeting, is given to the young investigator(s) whose original submission to Wound Repair and Regeneration is judged the best among all eligible papers during the prior year. Dr. Kozin and Dr. Gordon share the prize this year, as they equally contributed to the winning paper, which is: Gordon A, Kozin ED, Keswani SG, Vaikunth SS, Katz AB, Zoltick PW, Favata M, Radu AP, Soslowsky LJ, Herlyn M, Crombleholme TM. Permissive environment in postnatal wounds induced by adenoviral-mediated overexpression of the anti-inflammatory cytokine interleukin-10 prevents scar formation. Wnd Rep Regen 16:70-79, 2008.

The work was performed in the laboratory of Dr. Timothy Crombleholme at the Center for Molecular Fetal Therapy, Division of General, Thoracic, and Fetal Surgery, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center. Congratulations to the winners on an outstanding paper!